Report To:	COUNCIL
Date:	24 May 2016
Reporting Officer:	Steven Pleasant – Chief Executive and Returning Officer
Subject:	ELECTION OF COUNCILLORS
Report Summary:	To receive notification from the Chief Executive, the Returning Officer for the Local Elections held on the 5 May 2016, as to which persons were elected in accordance with the Representation of the People Acts to hold the Office of Councillor for the Wards within Tameside Borough Council.
Recommendations:	That the report is noted.
Links to Community Strategy:	The Constitution and democratic framework provides an effective framework for implementing the Community Strategy.
Policy Implications:	There are no policy implications.
Financial Implications:	There are no additional budgetary implications.
(Authorised by the Section 151 Officer)	
Legal Implications:	Complies with the Representation of the People Acts.
(Authorised by the Borough Solicitor)	
Risk Management:	Publication of the outcome of the Elections ensures compliance with the Representation of the People Acts and the Freedom of Information Act 2000.
Access to Information	The background papers relating to this report can be inspected by contacting Robert Landon, Head of Democratic Services by:
	C phone: 0161 342 2146

e-mail: <u>Robert.landon@tameside.gov.uk</u>

ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL - 24 MAY 2016

TAMESIDE METROPOLITAN BOROUGH COUNCIL

REPORT OF THE RETURNING OFFICER ON THE PERSONS ELECTED TO THE OFFICE OF COUNCILLOR FOR THE WARDS INDICATED BELOW

The following persons, at the elections held on 5 May 2016, were elected to the Office of Councillor for the Wards respectively indicated, to hold office for a period of four years:-

WARD	NAME AND PARTY OF COUNCILLOR ELECTED
ASHTON HURST	Leigh Drennan (Labour)
ASHTON ST. MICHAEL'S	Margaret Sidebottom (Labour)
ASHTON WATERLOO	Catherine Piddington (Labour)
AUDENSHAW	Teresa Smith (Labour)
DENTON NORTH EAST	Denise Ward (Labour)
DENTON SOUTH	George Newton (Labour)
DENTON WEST	Dawson Lane (Labour)
DROYLSDEN EAST	Jim Middleton (Labour)
DROYLSDEN WEST	Gerald Cooney (Labour)
DUKINFIELD	Brian Wild (Labour)
DUKINFIELD/STALYBRIDGE	Leanne Feeley (Labour)
HYDE GODLEY	Joe Kitchen (Labour)
HYDE NEWTON	Peter Robinson (Labour)
HYDE WERNETH	Ruth Welsh (Conservative)
LONGDENDALE	Chris Buglass (Labour)
MOSSLEY	Jack Homer (Labour) elected until 2020 Tafheen Sharif (Labour) elected until 2019
ST PETERS	Warren Bray (Labour)
STALYBRIDGE NORTH	Jan Jackson (Labour)
STALYBRIDGE SOUTH	Doreen Dickinson (Conservative)